It’s Time to Let Your Heart Heal


   Everyone has dealt with hurt at some point in their life. I can almost guarantee that most of us were not taught how to handle or process feelings of hurt as a child because our parents didn’t know better. Many of them had their own wounds that they themselves didn’t know how to handle. If you are a parent, remember that your children are going to do what you do, not what you say. Be their example.   

It takes more courage to face the hurt and deal with it than to run from it, put up your walls and toughen up. This may seem like the better way, but it will only harm you and others around you. Most of us will feel hurt by someone or something and we will get angry or we may feel rejected. Whatever you feel, let yourself feel it and process through it. Yes, it is hard, and it can feel overwhelming when you open up those deep wounds that you have covered up but it is necessary to let them heal. Just like a wound in the natural needs time and proper care to heal, it’s the same with emotional wounds.

    The Word tells us to Cast all of our caresupon Him because He cares for us. I love how the Passion Translation words it -Pour out all your worries and stress upon him and leave them there, forhe always tenderly cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7. He really means this, and Heeven means those things that may seem small to you. He said ALL of our cares.He wants us to come to Him, talk to Him about how we feel and let Him healthose hurts and those wounded places in our hearts.

    I believe there are many believers, both young and old who have been walking around with wounds from the past that have never been faced or dealt with. The bad thing about this is that you will end uphurting those around you. It may not be intentional, but it happens. When you have deep wounds, everything gets filtered through that. You will treat others differently. You won’t love completely. You will keep people at a distance because you don’t trust.

   I can talk about this because I have lived in this place for many years and it has been just inthe past year that my Heavenly Father has helped me to see how important it isto face this stuff and how urgent it is to be healed. I realize that I havepushed people away and isolated myself because there were many areas in my lifethat needed healing. I learned to keep people at a safe distance, and I hurt those people as a result. If you are reading this and you are one of those people that I hurt, please forgive me. It has never been my heart to hurtothers. This process has been hard and very lonely at times, but God has taughtme so much through it. I love people and I want to see them healed as well. Thereis nothing like it.

   God needs His Body to be whole and to be healed in order for us to be effective. This is especially important for leaders and pastors. These wounds will affect every area of your life. God wants to heal those places and He wants you to know that you can trust Him with all of it. Those deep wounds that you have lived with for years, He wants to heal them. Maybe you have felt like you don’t know how to go there because it’s been easier to put up your walls of self-protection. Trust me. Those walls will not last and they will destroy you. They will keep you away from good relationships and from really letting God into every part of your heart. Let me tell you that you CAN trust your Heavenly Father. He is a safe place. He’s the safest place. Ask Him to help you in this area and be honest with yourself and with Him because He already knows anyway. It’s time to dig up all those past hurts and to be healed. It will change your life. You will learn how to really love like God loves and you will learn how to trust again. You will grow so much closer to your Father than you have ever been, and you will be free. I pray for anyone reading this who finds themselves in a place of needing heart healing. You CAN be healed. You are NOT alone. The Father loves you more than you can imagine and He is waiting for you. Run into His arms and let Him heal your heart like only He can.

~ Dez

Leave a comment